The Basque Culinary World Prize is an annual prize created for the purpose of awarding the commitment to society and social responsibility of chefs throughout the world. To achieve this objective, the Basque Culinary Center academic centre (BCC), together with the Basque Government, will award €100,000 to a single winner who must dedicate the money to their chosen cause provided this falls within the framework of using gastronomy as a driving force for change for a better future.

As stated by Joan Roca, of El Celler de Can Roca (Girona) and president of the BCC’s International Advisory Council, “the award is in line with the trend cuisine is currently following: linked to the social responsibility chefs must assume”.

Basque Culinary World Prize 2016

The winner can be a project that is already under way or an initiative that hasn’t yet begun and which needs financial backing. This prize will go to a chef capable of showing how gastronomy can be a transformational force beyond flavour and capable of using gastronomy to influence society, either through culinary innovation or through projects linked to themes of culture, social responsibility, sustainability, economic development, etc.

In order to participate in the first edition of the Basque Culinary World Prize, chefs must be nominated by a gastronomy professional (a chef, writer, critic or institution) with a detailed description of the reasons why they should win. You can find more information on how to nominate someone here.

According to the BCC, the judging panel that will choose the winner will be made up of “the world’s most influential chefs and international experts”. Amongst others; Joan Roca, Ferran Adrià, Gastón Acurio, Heston Blumenthal, Massimo Bottura and René Redzepi.

Jury Basque Culinary World Prize 2016

The nomination period will end on the 30th of April after which a technical committee will assess the proposed candidates to whittle them down to a list of 20 finalists. Finally, in June, the judging panel will perform the final deliberation in relation to this list and the prize will be awarded in September.

All the information is available on the official website.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>

Uso de cookies

Este sitio web utiliza cookies para que usted tenga la mejor experiencia de usuario. Si continúa navegando está dando su consentimiento para la aceptación de las mencionadas cookies y la aceptación de nuestra política de cookies, pinche el enlace para mayor información.plugin cookies